• 46°

State to place strict COVID-19 restrictions on 13 counties, including Claiborne

Claiborne County is among 13 Mississippi counties that will have additional restrictions placed upon them as the state works to control the spike in COVID-19 cases.

During a press conference Wednesday, Gov. Tate Reeves said social gatherings in those 13 counties are now limited to 10 people indoors and 20 outdoors. Also, residents in those counties must wear masks in public gatherings or in a shopping environment when the new order goes into effect next week.

The 13 counties are Claiborne, Hinds, DeSoto, Harrison, Rankin, Jackson, Washington, Sunflower, Grenada, Madison, Jefferson, Wayne and Quitman.